New Forest pony

What a wondrous sunny day!

Impossibly early this morning, the cat stomped up the length of my being, but I didn't wake up, much. Then Fred tickled my feet until I gave in. I was soooooo sleepy, but once I'd got on the bike, I really appreciated being out in that sun.

We caught the train to Southampton, the ferry to Hythe, then cycled from there across the New Forest. There were ponies in abundance, one deer, several rabbits, a few donkeys, one pub lunch and cup of tea, and great cycle paths. One followed a disused railway and another was on the runway of a World War II airfield.

Catching the train home, Fred caught one old lady's admiration when he climbed the stairs clutching two bicycles, one in each hand (I was holding the scalding cups of tea). "You must have had porridge!" she exclaimed in passing. "Yes!" said Fred. His breakfast obviously does the trick.

Happy Weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.