In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Storyteller Series - #14 Back View

... continuing our virtual tour....

Here are more of the ornate tiles that have very detailed motifs.  I find it fascinating that so many of the different cultures that live in this neighborhood are represented.  I have noticed some tiles that reminds me of the Somalians that go to the local branch of the junior college in their colorful and patterned long outfits, tile patterns that make me think of the Asian group, colorful and detailed tiles that remind me of the tiles we can buy down in Mexico, tiles with American Indian designs and traditional geometric designs that have probably been around for a long, long time.

I have noticed the placement of these tiles much more closely since I started this series.  The same design will be used in more than one location, and usually not on the same side of the Storyteller as one of it's other locations. Most of the tile patterns have TWO large sectioned locations, and then perhaps they will be used as filler small tiles.  Patterns with an obvious directionality (or to use a sewing term: NAP) seem to be used more often in the "filler" tile capacity.

The designing artist featured in this blip was Sayoko Kay Mura

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.