Balancing nature&nurture

By wellbalancedpup

Sunday driving

Its a lovely spring day, my 84 year old parents along with everyone else within driving distance of the Lake District have gone for a drive in the sun....they set off in their little red car with a thermos of coffee for when they had a stop along the way.

Dad agreed to take his mobile and actually turned it on. He rang to tell me about the view when they got to their first stop, but I was out shooting my blip. SO when I was back putting their Sunday roast in the oven he rang again to tell me about the view at the second stop.

They had their 60th wedding anniversary last weekend and it feels like everyday with the pair of them together is a gift as my mum was so ill last year we thought we had lost her.

I've stepped in as an extra pair of hands and we are taking steps along the sometimes fraught route of becoming a three generational household. Generation 3 is visiting his Dad and as I waved my parents off for their drive it felt like the first day my kids went to nursery. "Will they be OK, how much time do I have before they get back, what can I fit in in the mean time" and luxuriating in a bit of space.

Saw these lyrics and thought they were quite appropriate..
(chose the red mini shot - bit of poetic license they actually have a Peugeot)


We would go driving in the sun
Into a world where we were one
We'd close our eyes and we'd become
As free as the sun and moon that shone

And even when our love has gone
And time has moved us all along
And even when the shades have passed
And what we made has gone at last
Something goes on and on and on . . .

...I believe that there was love
That fell between the two of us
And I believe the time we had
Was meant to be, but not to last . . .

And though I know that things
won't change
I remember all our days
Beautiful in many ways . . .

The Cranes, Driving in the Sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.