Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Thoughts on a fifth birthday

Tomorrow is the eldest TMG's 5th birthday. It is amazing how time has flown. I remember bringing him home from the hospital - a teeny little guy (although relatively large as babies go). We arrived at home and then looked at each other amd said, "Now what?" The very underpinnings of our family changed instantly. We thought we were prepared. Now I realize, you are never really fully prepared. Five years later, that day remains one of the happiest of my life. Every baby is a miracle and both of ours are no exception.

The late nights were trying as he tried to sort out the day/night sleep cycle. Fortunately, he was a quick learner and four weeks later he got it. I was thrilled with his rapid grasp of a difficult concept and he still shows the same acumen five years later. His rapidity of learning still amazes me and I cannot help but smile when says things like "Dad, why is that frog camouflaged?"

It is amazing to see the changes since his birth. Five years is not really that long, but in that short period our little baby has turned into a little person. He is a fantastic little guy, full of the joy, wonder and naughtiness that comes with the age. I love spending time with him (and his brother) whether it is going for long hikes or sitting together and snuggling while reading books. He and his brother have given me a new appreciation of the small things in life whether it is a long meandering story explaining what happened in his new "Scooby Doo" video or a new word spoken by his brother.

I never fully anticipated how my life would change as a parent. In retrospect, it has been a life altering experience for both of us. He has grown into a sympathetic, caring and loving little guy who is a joy to be around. He has taught me to be a better person and I will always be thankful for that and for all the joy he has brought to our lives.

Happy birthday little man, I love you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.