Life with K.C.

By KC

Remembering the brave

Today we went to the Air Forces Memorial in Runnymede. My Dad wanted to go as his Uncle James is remembered there. It's a memorial for those in the Air Force during World War II who have no graves. Great Uncle James was shot down and his body was never found, he was 21 years old and died on 4th July 1940. My Dad had last been to the Memorial when he was 15. My Dad was in the Royal Air Force for 38 years until he retired at 55. I was a bit worried about going as it was me, him & the three children. Kiddies were very well behaved though & Grandpa did a good job of explaining to Blue Twin why these brave men & women had no graves. The children & I went to the top of the dome where you can see for miles. It's an amazing building & memorial & a very fitting tribute.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.