Aspiring to be better

By growl3th

Volunteers Green

I was going to take some shots of the Links Market in its construction stage tonight. Well when I say was I actually did. But they were dull and uninspiring. I blame the weather. Fortunately I've always wanted to take a pic of this sign/gate so here we go.

I've always thought Volunteers Green should have been in Dublin and when this sign/gate was placed on it my opinion was reinforced. But it's not it's right here in Kirkcaldy.

Volunteers? Green is all that is left of almost 9 acres of ground presented to Kirkcaldy by Charles I in 1644. In 1972 plans to create a multi-storey car park on a large area of Volunteers? Green brought floods of protest and a petition was signed by 1842 people to save the Green. Out of this protest the Kirkcaldy Civic Society was born. In 1992 the council landscaped the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.