A Dog's Dinner

By G

Chainsaw massacre...almost.

So far it's a day of two halves. First thing this morning it was off to the garage to get the Jeep it's annual MOT test (annual governtment check) which coincided nicely with Chaos's rather fine Jeep shot. So it had to be taken.

This afternoon has been spent, cutting up logs with the chainsaw. Now chainsaws are amazing things and great fun, but they are still a bit scary and today was no exception.

Although I wear safety gear, in the past I have.

1. Leaned over a spinning chain

2. Started it up at full speed with no guard or brake on

3. Hit a previous cut log letting the chain spring up.

4. Stopped cutting and left the brake off

So far I've only scared myself

Todays big scare. I had finished the logs and was cutting up some waste wood for kindling when I caught myself daydreaming and the chain twisted and jammed at full throttle, and I didn't have my full face protection on. Again only a scare but it makes you think.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.