Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

Enterprising Wood Ducks

The great thing about visiting the same place on a frequent basis is that you get to know it very well. This may sound a trifle banal, but when I take my walk's in Bremen's Bürgerpark, I simply know where and when to find the animals I want to see.

For example, I know where this couple of Wood Ducks likes to spend their days. Sometimes they hang out with the Mallards, who are much bigger than they are. I even watched them being followed by a Mandarin drake. I guess they didn't like him much, poor fellow, because the Wood Duck hen tried to chase him away. I've seen them quarreling with other ducks-same sized ducks- before...

In the evening, I've watched them return to the park's duck compound, which they share with a couple of White- cheeked Pintails, Mandarin Ducks and another couple of Wood Ducks. Nice sleeping place, I guess, dinner and breakfast included.

I've started experimenting with my camera's ISO performance, because I usually take my walks in the early morning, sometimes even at dawn. I'm beginning with the highest setting, comments on this are welcome! Thank you, have a wonderful day. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.