Mystical Musings

By mysticalmusings

Mother's Gift

I didn't get a chance to take a photo before dark, so I'm looking around the house and see this on the wall. The necklace was my husband's Christmas gift from his mom. It's made of coral, turquoise and bear claws and hanging on a hatchet.

This morning I was eating breakfast at our diner, and my husband and his buddy were talking about custom holsters for their pistols complete with show and tell. So, off and on, during the day I thought about what a redneck community we live in. I guess my brain was in that mode when I was looking for a photo subject tonight.

My husband's family were bear hunters for years. It was their family thing to go camping and hunting bears. Fortunately, the bear hunting ended before I became part of the family. I love bears.

The hatchet is from our rendevoux days when we used to take our teepee and black powder rifles and go camping. I made Native American drums, rattles and jewelry and traded for buckskins and elk hides.

I guess my life has been pretty diverse when I think about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.