Emily L. J. Boyd

By eljb

The Hill

Today I went for coffee with my friend Bex, we've been friends on and off since we were kids. So I decided on my way down to meet her, I decided to stop at my old Primary school and take some photos.

Don't worry, there are no children there, which makes it a rather sad place for me. When the schools started back last summer, the Hill Primary and my friend Bex's school St. Stephens which was originally only up the road, both moved to a new building only five minutes walk away from my house.

The reason for the move is because of structural issues with the buildings, they're both riddled with wood rot, but luckily both are listed, so they're going to get reused, however it's still a really sad sight for me.

I spent 7 years of my life in those buildings, as did my friends and sisters and I can still remember the feeling of walking in on my first day, half way through the year, completely petrified at this class full of new faces. I remember the places where I fell and scarred knees and elbows, where we used to skip and play what's the time Mr. Wolf and the place we used to sit and enjoy the sun on lovely sunny days like these.

So no one will play hopscotch on the playground anymore and from the ware you can see the effect all the kids that have been through there. There was even a wilted daffodil lying on the tarmac as though someone had left it to mark the schools passing. Still lots of happy memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.