Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Windmill Week - Day 6 - Noordermolen

A great day today so I got on my bicycle and went to the Noordermolen. My idea was to go for HDR again, but that didn't work out because the mill was actually in use when I was there. No problem though, I think I got away with a nice shot for this week's windmill series.

The Noordermolen (Northern Mill) is a polder mill that was built in 1888 as a replacement for another windmill that burned down in 1864. It is fully operational although not in active use. In 1963, an electrical pump was installed in the mill. I don't know if this pump is still in place.

The mill is located near Noorddijk, a small village that is very near to the city of Groningen. A very nice view of the area where the mill is located can be seen here (links to another picture I took today).

Windmill week started here.

Edit: colleague and fellow blipper John joins in on the windmill week fun too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.