A lovely tune

Part of Spring cleaning means going through every drawer in the house, sorting, tossing, organizing. I am terrible at the job of doing so because I stumble upon objects and they are completely distracting, me being rather sentimental and all.

It happened then that I found this at the back of my desk drawer. Despite being thirty years old this past Easter, it still works perfectly. It was bought at a souvenir shop in Virginia the Spring after the Christmas that Mr. F proposed to me. We were just out and about with the family and he placed this in my hand without a lot of fanfare. I knew what it was but the awww moment didn't come until I turned the tiny crank to hear the tune it plays.

We drained the small water feature today-it held many gallons of snow meltwater which I pumped out and used to water the back garden with. Then I had the pleasant task of wiping out the pump bucket that was the scene of a mass earthworm drowning....gross. But it's filled, the recirculating pump hooked up and it is kind of a special moment when the water starts bubbling out of the granite boulder, a bit like giving a big finger to Old Man Winter.

If you can't make out the tune in the clip because of all the added sound effects, it is 'Always'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.