All things Blipable....

By Tina

remembering Dad..

One year ago, today 18th April.. My dad passed away.aged 82 years old.
It was at 0550am, on Easter Saturday..
I was there with my sister, her husband , my niece and the Macmillan nurse...
It was a privilege to be with my Dad as he slowly slipped away..

He (and my mum) had raised 5 children over the years..
Mum was 40 when she had me.. and im the baby of them all.
Dad worked hard all his life..
He was in Palestine in the war..in the Paras... always made me proud to think of MY dad jumping out of a plane..
He was the gentlest of men anyone could ever have hoped to have known..

sadly Alzheimers robbed us of our dad over the years..
and the cancer got the better of him..
BUT he was a fighter..
Stiff upper lip, Nothing gets ME down.. spirit.. He never really admitted he had Cancer..
that would have been weak!
He fought, RIGHT till the end..

a year down the line, i miss that man dreadfully..

My dad..x


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.