benek

By benek

What Kind Of Blipper Are You?

There are many different kinds of photography: documentary, landscape, still life, portrait, etc. and there are many ways to go about making these photos. Some people just look around and when they see something they like they take a picture of it. I call this opportunistic blipping.

The other side of the spectrum is when you're trying to achieve some result. Whether it's an assignment (official blip assignment or just personal assignments as Chaos often does) or you just have an idea in your head. You purposefully set up a scene to achieve your desired end result. I call this manufactured blipping.

Of course there is large area between these two sides. You can be a little bit of both. For example, I have been meaning to try to get to the spot that I shot from yesterday ever since I saw some cars parked there and knew that it existed. I knew it would be a good spot for a city skyline over the harbour view and I purposefully went there with that shot it mind. I didn't set it up, I didn't rearrange anything, but it was somewhat of a premeditated blip so I think it falls in between opportunistic and manufactured.

Other days I just wander around and shoot what catches my eye and that's totally opportunistic. In general I find myself leaning more to the opportunistic side. I usually find blips rather than make blips. But I often admire photographers you who can imagine and create scenes to photograph. Croz's recent favorite memories and room 101 series come to mind as great examples.

So what kind of blipper are you? Opportunistic (finds blips)? Manufactured (makes blips)? Somewhere in between? Or something totally different?

Update****
Dark has kindly filled in the compass for us. If opportunistic is North, manufactured South, then Journalary (Chick Flick style) is East and Illustrative is West.

Update #2 ****
Chaos has added a third dimension, the z-axis, which is up for artistic and down for technical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.