dark|adapted

By dark

Lurking



After yesterday's near-meltdown, I spent most of today in a movie theater.

First up was "When You're Strange" - a documentary about The Doors that, though it didn't really break any new ground, was still immensely enjoyable, if only for the music.

Then, after moving a couple more boxes to the house, it was off to the Atlanta Film Festival to see a screening of several somewhat experimental documentary shorts.

All very enjoyable, but I think my favorite was "The Darkness of Days," an exploration of suicide using found footage from old government educational films. It definitely had the most emotional impact.

Oddly, I discovered that I actually knew the people who made one of the films, "Ghosts" (about violins), although I didn't know that going in.

Oh, and for my own future reference, the other two films were "The Solitary Life of Cranes" (a beautifully-shot piece about construction crane operators), and "Clandestine" (the history of espionage and short-wave numbers stations as a mirror of one man's relationship with his father. It was nicely done, and very similar to "The Darkness of Days" stylistically, but there were unfortunately some sound and projection problems that detracted.).

After that, back to the house, where I still have no water - a month later - add that to yesterday's list of grievances against the city - and where I ran into the monster up above. Don't know exactly what kind she is, but she didn't look particularly pleasant, so I didn't stick around to have a conversation.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.