Old Photos Left Behind

Before I start, I really hope I am not breaking the Blipfoto contributor rules. For what it's worth I am photographing the desktop with this amazing old photo lying on it. I positioned it sideways to, well give it a "on the desktop" feel. Anyway, moderators and fellow blippers, if you feel I am breaking the rules, well I took a banker photo to get me out of trouble.

If not, read on.

Bob went back the Perth WA today. We dropped him and his luggage off at the domestic terminal just after 6pm. He went back with quite a bit more than he came with thanks to a trip to the markets on the weekend. Bob is an avid collector of military antiques. It was sad to see him go, not just because Jo and I are so fond of him. He came to see his Father, probably for the last time, and now he is heading home to the other side of the country. As I type his flight should be taking off...if it is on time.

When we got home there were a bunch of photos of Dad lying on my desk. Bob wants me to scan them. Most I haven't seen before. This was at the bottom of the pile and caught my eye. It really shows Jo's dad, my Father-in-Law (third from the left at the back) in a different age. I had to snap the memory just because of the impression it has left on me.

This is a snapshot of life in the early 50's in the UK. Jo's Dad went to sea and I suspect these likely lads are his shipmates. Seeing it in colour, obviously from a slide really sheds light on what those lads were like way back then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.