Plasmapheresis #1

Today I started plasmapheresis treatments to try to reduce the inflammation that causes my painful neuropathy. If you have ever donated plasma, this is the exact same procedure. One IV pulls my blood out, the machine spins the blood to remove the plasma. The red blood cells are given back through another IV along with 5% albumin to replace my lost proteins. The plasma filled with my noxious antibodies is thrown out. I will have 5 treatments over 2 weeks to see if it works. There is only 1 paper documenting this treatment with my specific neuropathy. It helped 7/9 patients - pretty good odds that this will help.

My Mom kindly took the day off to drive my in to the city for the 1st treatment. We hit horrendous traffic on the way home. I took a little nap just as we entered the Bronx. I woke up an hour later and we were still in the Bronx! We had forgotten that there was a game at Yankee Stadium which let out just as we were headed in that direction. Next time I will take the train!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.