Pixel Art

By pixelart

Earth Week Celebrations - Day 2

After yesterday's Rangoli and Graffiti events, today we had Painting and Collage events to celebrate Earth Week. I was surprised by the number of participants turned up today. Many had turned up to participate in painting event. After all, its fun and powerful to express your thoughts visually like in Photography :) Generally I like to paint (in fact I participated in previous year's event) but this time I preferred to stay behind the camera and decided to cover the event.

Apparently from all the entries we received, people wanted to convey 2 messages strongly - "Save water" and "Biking to office".

Couple of days back I blipped about water management this Summer. Actually the water management should not be limited to just Summer. It is actually an endless process of management and conservation for future.

And biking to office is something that is not yet common in India. May be, because we don't have proper biking lanes exclusively for bikers or the traffic is so disorganized here that people are actually afraid of riding to office in their bikes. But trust me, that 15-20 days in February when I rode my friend's bike to office everyday, I actually loved it. Didn't find traffic to be that much of a challenge to ride. Was a good exercise too.

Now that it is Summer here and with the mercury rising everyday, I don't think I can ride to office anytime beyond 9 AM. Since that time doesn't suit me much, I might have to wait for the Summer to end before buying my own bike. But yes, living within 5 km radius from office, I find it a total abuse to go to office in a car, wasting petrol and polluting the environment. I strongly feel, the people living within 5-10km radius from office can comfortably ride to office in bikes, save fuel for future and reduce their contribution towards pollution! I think if the number of bikers increase, the infrastructure for bikers will also improve slowly.

iWanna bike to office, do you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.