On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Parisienne in Ruswarp

We had visitors today, a family from Paris. They took us to Ruswarp Nursery Gardens and Whitby. It was fine and sunny but cold.

I was struck by the light when taking this photograph. The green of the grass, the blue of the sky, the silver of the bark, the red of the shoes. It took my breath away. Then I realised it was because I was looking at the image through a viewfinder and not on an LCD screen.

I haven't forgotten the impact of focusing an image through the viewfinder of my first SLR in 1984. Taking photos on a compact digital camera is enjoyable but for me there is nothing like looking through a viewfinder.

The blipping process is interesting because on some days it is difficult to get one photograph that is acceptable. On others, like today, I am spoilt for choice. Tomorrow I have to start all over again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.