The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Man and Boy

When I was a three year old my Dad got me to impress my foot in the concrete of the garden path he was making at his parents-in-law's house down in Kirkcudbrightshire. I think he was 'sealing the deal' (especially as it was his second wife - a rarity in those days) - I got their surname as my middle name and I was their first and only grandson. Special me!
So when Grandad Chris died in 1971 and the house was sold, my one wish was to keep the paving slab with my footprint. What a pest. My uncle duly dug it up and brought it back and it's travelled with me as I've moved house ever since.
And here it is in the sun this morning. With my foot as it is now, 51 years later.
Oh, and please don't view it big, it was a spur of the moment thing and my nails are no doubt a bit foosty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.