This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

The yesterday report

When I try to think back it is not immediately clear what happened with my day, no real big events. It wasn't a bad day or a good one. There was the morning blip and write, the walk, and the usual morning things. There was the studio- oh yes- I am starting to remember. I stopped by the store and bought a dozen brown cottage roses to take to the studio. Twelve roses for my twelve studio mates and for the twelve months of the underground studios. I put them on the table in the middle of our galleries with a little note- it would be a nice surprise when my friends happened upon them.

As I type this now, I am squinting my eyes, and the monitor seems too bright and letters are starting to drop off, I close my eyes and continue to type. I know what is coming... Migraine.. Third this month. What the hell. I should get away from here and put my hands in hot water and take something.

I should make it stop before I will have to surrender too much time to it. I wonder, what is causing these... Shit. Blinded again.

Back now, along with the remnants of what best can be described as an alien abduction of sorts. The strange thing about migraines is the amazing sense of relaxation I can create when I just go into the blinding light and pulses of old memory. The smell of pumpkin, the autumn, the light of the past, and words all wrapped up in the spiraling light behind my eyes. I imagine the sensation to be a bit like levitation.

Back to yesterday. Chatted with studio mates about some small art world drama, drank not copious amounts of water, but matcha tea with soy milk. Worked on the large canvas and pushed it too far, it is not lost but it is not well. There is a big patch of mess to contend with today. Listened to music. And then later in the day, I just decided to sit at my work table and read. I closed my studio door, and just enjoyed being surrounded by my work, my music, and the book. It was nice to leave my reality for a while, even though the one I was visiting is not one I would choose for myself.

Went to the bar across the street from the studio and had a couple of beers with my friends. Yeah.. It's a slippery slope. Perhaps I can blame my drinks on Bunny Munro. It was fun though, no harm no foul.

There was a long dreamy talk about the absence of fear...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.