gilliebg

By gilliebg

The Dandelion

The dandelion is a perennial, herbaceous plant with long, lance-shaped leaves. They're so deeply toothed, they gave the plant its name in Old French: 'Dent-de-lion', lion's tooth in French. Dandelion greens are wonderful in salads, sautÈed or steamed. They taste like chicory and endive, with an intense heartiness overlying a bitter tinge. Collect dandelion leaves in early spring, when they're the tastiest, before the flowers appear. Dandelions growing in rich, moist soil, with the broadest leaves and largest roots, are the best. The leaves are more nutritious than anything you can buy. They're higher in beta-carotene than carrots. The iron and calcium content is phenomenal, greater than spinach. You also get vitamins B-1, B-2, B-5, B-6, B-12, C, E, P, and D, biotin, inositol, potassium, phosphorus, magnesium, and zinc by using a tasty, free vegetable that grows on virtually every lawn.

Thank you to everyone who stopped by yesterday; I do normally reciprocate with a return visit, but the last 24 hrs, have driven me to state of nervous hysteria; not a pretty sight, let me tell you.

It was decided some weeks ago that we would have new floors. I was quite happy with the floors we have, but if Tom and Rachael want to rip up 800 square feet of carpet and tiles, and pay for it, the so be it. Accordingly, having checked with the company from whom we buy our DSL, I moved the PC, plugged it in and, zilch. Called customer dis-services again, and they told me to get a filter. I drove 7 miles to town, bought the filter, plugged it in and- you've guessed it, nada! A lot more heated telephone calls and a 'technician' was promised for the next day.

A 375 lb man arrived, spread his tools around, undid all the phone jacks in the house and decided that some new wiring was needed.

Now, my dog has never bitten anyone. Well, there was the one time, but we didn't believe it. Her aunt, yes; she was incarcerated in North Carolina for biting the State Vet. We had to spring her, and run for the State line, but that is another story. Anyway, it seems Loulou bit him on the ankle. I couldn't see a mark as he high-tailed it out of the door and left, leaving tools and dis-membered jacks behind him. Loulou is small enough to come in through the cat flap, so a quick boot up the backside would have sent her screaming for help, but no, it was the large technician who left.

Eventually, after a lot more telephoning, another man with a van was sent round. By the time he arrived I had used the tools to rewire everything, run an extension from the original jack, and my internet was up and running, I returned the tools, subduing the impulse to suggest various places to keep them, and sent him packing thereby saving myself some money, always supposing I don't get my a--- sued.

So, forgive me, dear blippers, for I am a nervous wreck. And Tom has yet to start on the tiles with the jackhammer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.