Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The costume drama

Update: prayers and thoughts for Reuben please. He's in intensive care with a respiratory infection from an asthma attack, same as in February. Thanks

Edited: Quick peek at the alternative, 1 of 2000, the engagement shot, a SOOC as just arrived home. Sometimes everything comes together: composition, subject, light and shadow, white balance, focus so there's nothing to add upon. I think I'll be proud of this shot for a good while but can't bear to bump Reuben for it as today's Blip. I would love to be part of this couple in the shot and what great fun they had together... beautiful! I actually learnt a new lessons too that I need to get clearance from City Hall if I'm pretending to be a professional in public parks and attractions. Thus I had to wear a sticker and the cop asked for my name, driver's license and phone number, the latter with a smile on his face.

Today I booked a 2hr shoot for the boys to mark Reuben's birthday and his trach coming out (that said, we had the paramedics at home at 4am because he was wheezing, but I seem to be the one to panic less and realised he just needed a bit more xoponex, his asthma medication). The photographer's client base is heavily geared towards the entertainment industry, and I was absolutely delighted for the opportunity to own the digital files after. That's a unique benefit which I really seek. This evening I shoot my first engagement photos: and thankfully one pays for the other. In my dreams hey...

This, Reuben dressed as Robin Hood, or is it Peter Pan? With his seemingly bowl cut hair c/o Hairdresser Mama, it's quite a fitting look. Anyway, trying out some costumes for his birthday party next Saturday and this is a super quick cropped with the lens than tinted blip. And his eyes behind his beloved glasses: how lovely to slip a peek without.

I've realised it's pretty impossible to keep both boys from running all through the beautiful Irvine Regional Park for 2hrs whilst I try to do their fashion changes, wipe noses, stop tantrums, wipe botties, give bottles, and for once, I wasn't even behind the camera so can't even blame that on my exhaustion. The photographer wanted me in a few of the shots and though I would normally jump at the unexpected opportunity as I'm so rarely in front of the lens, I can't exactly say with my unkempt hair, muddy jeans and sweaty brow, I was exactly photogenic. Did I manage some lipgloss? Hmm, not sure. Best get some rest so I'm in good form for the sunset shoot on the pier. The hour long drive back on the freeway seemed way too long. I'll return to the park despite the distance: the railroad, nature trails and throbbing meadows were calling me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.