Picture this

It's Saturday so it must be another bike ride! :-)

I was awake early, no idea why, so I got the 6.15am train to Chippenham, then cycled thru Calne, Avebury (where the standing stones are), down past Honeystreet, Devizes, Melksham, Lacock, Corsham, Bradford on Avon, then back along the canal to Bath.

The view coming into the Vale of Pewsey was amazing and I would have blipped it but a slight haze in the air meant that my pictures didn't do it justice.

The ride was about 69 miles in all, taking over 7 hours with a stop for lunch at Bradford on Avon (the early section was on rough tracks which forced me to go slow on my narrow road types).

All I want is a photo in my wallet
A small remembrance of something more solid


Picture This
Blondie


This is the negative of a sepia-toned and very grainy image of Lacock Abbey. Why? Because Lacock Abbey was the birthplace of modern photography:

The house eventually passed to the Talbot family. It is most often associated with William Henry Fox Talbot. In 1835 Talbot made the earliest known surviving example of a photographic negative, a small photogenic drawing of the oriel window in the south gallery of the Abbey. He continued with his experiments at the Abbey and in 1840, discovered the negative/positive photographic process, upon which modern photography is based.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.