Snake Oil

I spotted this fella stuck in a plant pot at my parents' place this afternoon.

Its a rain inducing frog. Its part of a set of 4. The idea is that you place one at each corner of the lawn and, lo, rain will arrive to water your previously parched grass.

I am not making this up.

According to my Mum it works. They tried it and it rained soon after the critters had been inserted into their alloted places in the garden.

I could not make this up if I tried. I simply don't have the imagination.

What's more worrying about this? The fact that there is someone out there peddling this nonsense [1] and making money from it? Or the fact that my Mum thinks it does the trick?

[1] Actually, a quick Google reveals that, for some cultures, frogs are indeed symbols of good luck and bringers, or protectors, of water. Its still snake oil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.