dark|adapted

By dark

Hummingbird Hyde


If a given hummingbird, perhaps named - oh, let's say Jekyll - were to suddenly develop a dark side and go rampaging about in the flower garden at night, I believe this is how said dark side might appear.

About the size of a small hummingbird, it flits about acting for all the world just like one - admittedly, a somewhat strange-looking one.

He wouldn't sit still long enough to get a good look, so we actually thought he was one - until I saw the photos on a full-sized monitor. Surprise, surprise. Clearly not.


Well then, ladies and gentlemen, without further ado, let me introduce the Snowberry Clearwing Moth, aka Bumblebee Moth.

I'd never seen one before today (never even heard of it, actually), and as I was in the northeast corner of the state, he appears to have been a bit out of his range.

But he didn't seem concerned about that. Too busy enjoying those flowers.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.