Of editing and writing...

Editing is such a handy thing: changing and shuffling your words so they sound better, improving sentence structure and grammar, expanding thoughts. I love the little editing pencil on blip and use it ALL the time, probably more than I should. It would take less time to post if I didn't do that.

What did we do before word processors, spell check, and editing before hitting 'send' or 'submit'? I can't remember anything except a great many balled up pieces of paper when writing letters. How would one write a love letter now? Get it perfect in Word and then handwrite it all scrolled and fancy?

I did the unthinkable a few days ago: filled out an online form with my handwritten alphabet, scanned and submitted it to a website to have it turned into a real font, one that I could name whatever I want. But I couldn't go through with it. It seemed like the last nail in the coffin of loosing my ability to handwrite completely. Plus it cost almost twenty dollars, those greedy b..tards.

Someone asked me the other day if I knew anyone who does calligraphy and I said: "There are dozens of free, downloadable, calligraphic fonts on dafonts.com." Oops. She wanted 'real' calligraphy, I gathered from the disapproving response.

She can't be the only one needing a calligrapher, so maybe I should learn how to do that even though it won't come with an editing pencil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.