Lyra's life in pictures

By Lyra

You must never go down to the end of the town...

....Without consulting me!

Back Blipped

---
From Midwife's Notes:-

Pooky is well - she has been a bit active today - even a short walk with the dogs! ... Pooky will try not to do this again; Tom has agreed to keep her under house arrest!

Lyra is a real Cutie! Jaundice is resolving due to breast feeding on demand / hourly. She was alert during my visit.

---

I went out with the dogs because I was feeling really quite well. It was a little surreal though, it was so so cold and I remember being in the park having climbed the hill with two dogs in my charge and all my dog walking friends pleased to see me. I also remember being overcome with a feeling of weakness (like when you're going to pass out) and as I was walking the dogs slowly round the woods thinking - "If I needed to run right now, I don't think I could remember how" - I'm not sure why that thought came to mind!

My midwife was horrified that I'd walked down our steep front steps. If I'd been in hospital they'd have given me a stitch but she thought I would be fine with bed rest - I told her she hadn't said I couldn't go down the steps - to which she replied 'If you'd stayed in bed as I suggested you should then you wouldn't have needed to' - well you can't say fairer than that!

After that little jaunt which told me I really wasn't ready to go outside, I really did start to enjoy spending lots of time in bed with Lyra, knowing that I really needed the rest and that every moment I was spending with Lyra now was helping us to bond.

At this point, Tom was amazing, he was doing everything, - and on this day he made 6 Christmas puddings and 3 Christmas cakes to boot! I think it was all the sleep he had in the first 72 hours after birth (when I couldn't sleep at all) that left him bright eyed and bushy tailed. he was also on a natural high of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.