On My Doorstep

By bwhere

The Brain & Consciousness

I have taken this photo in order to tell a story ... I was in a restaurant yesterday and after eating I was reading a book called Out of Our Heads: Why you are not your brain, and other lessons from the biology of consciousness. To my amazement, two young men came in and sat behind me who were heatedly talking about consciousness! It isn't often, it normally isn't ever, that you overhear people talking about such a subject. I don't anyway. I stopped reading and listened to what they were saying. There was talk of "consciousness" versus "awareness" and much else that intrigued me. I just had to get up and shake their hands. One was a neuroscientist and one was a psychologist and they said I had missed an hour of their deliberations from before they entered the restaurant. I was filled with admiration for their serious endeavours. There they are at the beginning of exploration that could open new doors of consciousness research. The baton has been handed over now from the philosophers to this breed of scientists. Good luck to them. It is a thrilling subject to investigate.

Oh, I forgot to mention, the book I was reading is by Alva Noe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.