Bald Eagle

By JohnJD

In Deva Victrix - Castra Legionis Today

I am blessed with wonderful neighbours. They are having an extention built which is good news as it indicates that they will be staying for the foreseeable future but bad news as with any building work it can get a bit noisy.

I needed to work from home today but instead I decided that it would be best to go up to the office in town and work from there. I was able to have a stroll round town at lunchtime and then this evening took a walk through the park then down by the river taking the long way round to the car park.

There was lots going on today. A group of archeologists were having a dig in the landscaped area around the Cathedral while a cohort of Roman Legionaries from the Legio XX Valeria Victrix hung about outside the Town Hall.

I saw for the first time a 1 mtre high bronze sculpture of an elephant calf that was given by Chester Zoo to the city and stands in the Town Hall Square. I am sure that the young children of the city will enjoy riding that.

On my way home this evening I walked, in glorious, sunshine through the Grosvenor Park and then down to the river where four heron were standing like sentinels on the weir ready to catch their supper. A couple were more were stationed a bit further down river waiting for any fish that had managed to escape that far. One heron stood on the prow of a semi-submerged dingy looking like the Captain ready to go down with his craft.

When I arrived at the car park at about 6pm there was a lot of activity going on. The funfair was arriving - the car park closed at 4pm and I had not seen the sign when I parked there this morning. Large pantechnicons were arriving with all the rides and stalls. I was impressed by the matching livery of all the vehicles which were all beautifully clean and shiny. I had to wait a few minutes as the unhitched a burger van before I could get out of the car park and make my way home.

The funfair should provide a few Blip opportunities over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.