horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Honking

Clearly no-one ever told this goose that it's rude to stick your tongue out...

One of those days that makes you actually believe in some sort of supreme being - namely one with a vicious and remorseless sense of humour.

30 seconds out the front door on the commute and I'd been given the finger by a driver. Fair enough I'd been a bit unreasonable. After all, in a 30 zone he was only driving about 10mph over the limit, on my side of the road, overtaking another car, with parked cars on both sides, speed bumps, and kids walking to school. My waving motion to slow down could be seen as an over-reaction.

At work a matter from years ago, a dispute brought about by the ex-boss being a blinkered fool who would rather ignore things than deal with them and have his personal dislikes over-ride commercial sense, raised its ugly head and guess who gets to deal with the legal consequences... Still, new-boss has been informed and we're going to chat about it tomorrow, and thankfully he seems fully aware of the shortcomings of ex-boss.

Then onto lunchtime and a call from the company supplying almost a tonne of slate for new paths in the back garden. I'm beginning to think our house is some sort of Bermuda triangle for garden deliveries. Remember two tonnes of soil I ordered, paying £25 for the extravagance of a specified delivery day, and the non-attendance to phonelines over the weekend when said soil failed to appear? A separate third tonne ordered form a different company with a 1-3 day delivery time which arrived on the fifth day after a call found our order had most likely been lost?

Well. Last week I ordered some slate to be delivered by Friday. I got a call on Friday asking if Monday would be okay. 'Fine' I said, 'as long as no-one has to be in for it to be delivered to the street.' Yesterday there's another call, this time from the delivery company, would Tuesday be okay? More grumpy assent is given, with a very VERY specific query as to it being delivered kerbside with no-one being in. So today rolls by and the company calls me... Kerbside deliveries, it appears, require a signature. Oh really? And our driveway is on 'too much of a slope'. Eh? So now I've got to arrange another day for delivery, and someone to be here. I am not happy. Apparently if someone crashes into the big white bag of slate in the road the company will find itself sued.

To top it all off the store that sells the jewellery that I was going to buy for my mum's birthday on Sunday, on behalf of me, Mel, my brother, sister, and niece, is... closed for refurbishment till May 15th... Online ordering, even with 'express delivery' isn't necessarily guaranteed to arrive before the weekend - but I've got no option.

And those are just the headlines. Seriously, it really HAS been one of those days... Karma dictates I'm due a good 'un sometime soon.

Rejected blip: Gone fishin'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.