Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Flounder

Today I walked down to St Andrews' harbour. In comparison to a lot of the larger, more industrial harbours that I've taken photographs at, this one seemed to be more docile and humble. The boats that bobbed alongside the old brick walls were compact and well maintained and their owners seemed to enjoy a more relaxed pace of life. One man was hosing down lobster pots ready for their next voyage into the deep, whilst another was repairing the crates that had succumbed to the lobster's claw.

On the far side of the harbour I spotted and older gentleman hauling in a small flounder from the shallow sandy water. Being partial to a spot of fishing myself and lacking company, I wandered over to get a closer look. He wore worn out brown trainers at the bottom of some scruffy blue jeans and a dark blue fleecy top to keep warm. In front of him were two fishing rods jutting over the side of the grassy edge and to his side lay a scattered pile of Pollack and, more interestingly, Flounder. So, after building up the courage and rehearsing conversation openers - much like with a girl you'd want to ask out - I approached him to ask about his fish. I leaned towards him and asked:

-"what tackle do you use?"

He seemed immediately pleased that I had taken interest in his catch and we plunged into conversation .

-"Oh just lugworm on a hook, you get them down on the beach in front of the Seafood Restaurant. Y'know where that is?"

-"Yeah"

- "Just there. If you go down with a fork and then look out for the tell-tale signs, you can get plenty"

- "Cool. How deep is the water just here?"

- "Erm, about six metres I'd say. They've shut the lock for the time being. See that wooden thing there?(It looked like your average canal lock, maybe a bit less modern) Well they lock that for a bit and let it open to flush out all the dirt that gets caught in this part of the harbour"

- "So does that mean that the fish get stuck there too?"

- "Exactly, that's why I'm here. I don't usually fish here, usually I go down to my mates' in Gloustershire area y'know, go for carp and pike and that, real fish!" He laughs and then coughs out smoke form his cigarette.

- "Gets you dinner though huh?" I said, "listen I better go, but have a nice day fishing!"

- "Thank you. Thanks for the chat".

I walked back up towards the cathedral slightly annoyed that I was too nervous to ask for a picture, especially because I had talked to him for so long anyway. Why didn't I ask? I could even imagine the picture I wanted in my head and I became infuriated at myself for missing the opportunity. In fact, I became so annoyed that I turned myself right around and walked the 5 minutes back down the road and reproached him.

I could tell he understood my intentions on return. And even though I didn't get the shot exactly how I wanted, in that he wasn't featured, it felt nice to overcome my nerve barrier when taking photos of and around strangers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.