andypowe11

By andypowe11

Protection

My old Roland TR-606 analogue drum machine which (according to the Wikipedia page) was only made between 1981 and 1984 before being superseded by digital drum machines offering sampled drum sounds. I have to say, the sounds on the TR-606 are, shall we say, rather retro!

When I went to university in Birmingham in 1979 I took my guitar with me. I wanted to form/join a band but quickly realised that lots of people were much better guitarists than I was. Instead, I bought a second-hand drum kit on the basis that drummers were more in demand. (The fact that I couldn't actually play the drums didn't seem to feature in my reasoning.)

Anyway... to cut a long story short, after playing in a band for a couple of years I decided that I wanted to play bass instead so I sold my drum kit and used the money to buy this TR-606. Drum machines were pretty new at the time and the rest of the band were a little surprised (to say the least!) when I turned up to the next practice session, especially given the sound quality. But, hey, it was the early 80s and crap drum sounds were soon all the rage! :-) They got used to it.

I have no idea where I got my bass guitar from, nor what happened to the previous bass player.

You're a boy and i'm a girl
But you know you can lean on me
And I don't have no fear
I'll take on any man here
Who says that's not the way it should be

I stand in front of you
I'll take the force of the blow


Protection
Massive Attack

According to the Wikipedia page the TR-606 was used on this album, though I have to say that, if so, it's non-obvious to find.

Mind you, the Wikipedia page also says that TR-606s now sell for between $400 and $500. Unfortunately, mine is a little broken in places so I don't think it would command quite those prices :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.