Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Up Close

I took a day off from the streets of Riverside. Motivation, or lack of it, was part of the reason but it was mainly because I started playing with my wife's Ricoh CX1 camera.

While having a cigarette on the back deck, I noticed the way the light was catching a fern by the driveway. I thought it would be good to capture it as a macro shot. I have no macro lens for the Canon but the CX1 is a wizard when it comes to macro.

But you know me, I cannot just stop at one shot and so looked around for other subjects. Some ended up as miserable failures, probably due to my unfamiliarity with the camera, but others turned out well.

I narrowed down the choice for today's post to three photographs and decided this head-on close-up of a hibiscus bloom probably had more impact than my genteel shot of the fern.

If anyone is looking for a good P&S camera as a back-up for their DSLR, I can highly recommend the Ricoh CX1. It is cheap as chips since the introduction of the CX2 and CX3 models.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.