Iain with two ‘I’s

By iainkendall

Can you get the bus?

At 4pm I received a text message from my darling wife; "Would you be able to get a bus across town after work?". A bus? I can't remember the last time I got the bus...in fact I do, it was to pick up the car in October last year which I think says it all.

I'm aware that Edinburgh has one of the best bus services in the Country and when I first moved down I had every intention of using the bus for work but after seeing my first, packed out, morning bus I decided to walk and I have since.

I do enjoy the bus though...when it's quiet. There is nothing required of you; no walking, no watching the roads as you cross them...you just sit. It's the difference between driving a commute everyday (as I used to in Aberdeen) and then being a passenger on that route for the first time...you notice so much more when nothing is required of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.