Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Fish Tank Tragedy

Yesterday I cleaned the fish tank. It was long overdue so when Martine, Nienke and Inge went outside for the Queen's Day celebrations and Ellis was sleeping, I had some time to do this. When I was almost done, Ellis woke up. I rushed to get the two goldfish back in the tank and then got Ellis out of bed.

This morning, Nienke, Ellis and me got in the living-room and I immediately noticed both goldfish laying on their side on the bottom of the tank with their bodies twisted. When I got closer I noticed they were still alive. Nienke started crying and wanted to know what was wrong with them. I remembered how I rushed the last bit of the cleaning so I suspected there may have been some cleaner left in the tank when I put the water in. I quickly put the poor animals in a bucket with some clean water.

Then I got the water out of the fish tank, at which point I noticed it started foaming. Definitely not a good sign! After carefully cleaning the tank again the fish were put back in. They started showing some signs of recovery after only a couple of minutes but it took until the afternoon before they seemed to be back to normal. This shot was taken almost an hour after I cleaned the tank this morning. I'm so glad they're doing fine but I'm also very angry with myself; they nearly died because of me!

You may have seen the blip I put up earlier today. It was a panorama showing the view from my in-laws kitchen. This didn't work very well as a blip: the thumbnail had a very low resolution and even when viewed as large there were no details visible. Still, the original image has a resolution of 17320×1350 pixels. If you're interested, you can find the panorama here. For best viewing, download the image using the Download option above the image. Then use your favourite image viewer and make sure you use the entire vertical resolution of your monitor. Then pan from left to right to see all the details. I think it's worth it; it shows a typical Dutch scene and it also shows how flat the area is where I'm living. But if you don't want to go through that trouble then that's fine too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.