Life of a toaster

By jivetoaster

Daddy Blackbird

A lot of avian commotion out around our back garden today - there seemed to be a non-stop "chink-chink" call of blackbirds around. Late afternoon when I went to put rubbish in a bin, I think I worked out why.

I almost stood on a young looking bird, which flew off erratically and seemed to crash straight into a garage door nearby. It then hopped up onto the adjoining wall, apparently none the worse for wear. This male blackbird then flew over to sit in the tree above it, looking like it was watching over the little 'un. Maybe Junior was out on those perilous first training flights, and Dad here was watching over him/her, like I'll be the first time Junior tries cycling without stabilisers...

Didn't manage a shot of the chick though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.