On My Doorstep

By bwhere

In Memory

I had a dream last night. I walked through the house of a long-departed neighbour and in his garden there were a whole lot of people scything his grass on a clear sunny evening. I had the sense it was like a wake for him which is interesting because he never really saw the point of cutting grass in a back garden. But he did use a scythe and he showed me how to use one and how to sharpen it. I've still got the scythe I started with although it is rusty and I use a mower these days. So here is my blip in memory of my neighbour ...

Even with the subject matter decided you still have to compose the shot! My emphasis is on the area of the ring, tang, heel and beard. Plus a bit of the chine! But in admitting that I have taken the names from the internet I have to say that I have no memory of what the Yorkshire names might be. Perhaps it is too late to be authentic. Can anyone help?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.