One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Good to the last drop

Here we have Pepe savouring the very last drop of Veranda. A fine Chilean Pinot Noir if I have ever tasted one.
And to be totally honest, I have tasted more than a few.
You see, Pepe used to be the wine buyer for Superquinn (a smaller scale Marks and Sparks) and he sourced that very wine.
Superquinn had the exclusivity on the sale of Veranda in Ireland, this was Pepe's prerogative when closing the deal with Corpora wines.
This wine is special to me as I actually saw it birth place, discussed its conception with the wine maker (at the time a Californian guy who was not all that enthusiastic about living in Chile but who could do wonders with his blends and choice of vinification), and enjoyed several bottles of their handpicked single vineyard flagship just a few miles from the vineyards.
Today we had the last two bottles. And here is Pepe getting the last drop.
Superquinn are discontinuing Veranda.
I doubt that I'll get to drink it again.
But when I close my eyes, this is one of the few wines whose taste and palate I can recall with some accuracy.
50% grapes, 50% memories

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.