Disaster

The Gulf of Mexico shoreline, Florida and potentially the East Coast of the US face the devastating effects of an oil spill so vast that its damage could far surpass that of the Exxon Valdez-if BP isn't able to cap the well soon.

I just wrote that and am reading it again.

Every time I do, I get more and more angry and sick to my stomach. The thought of fishermen and businesses suffering because of contamination to the ocean is enough to make me ill. The thought of thousands of marine and land animals suffering and dying because they and their food will be coated in black, tarry poison makes me want to throw up and then throttle the oil executives of BP and the Sarah Palins of the world who continue to chant "drill, baby, drill."

Twice in my lifetime? That stinks. So does feeling helpless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.