Surprise View!

The Man, Chippy and I had a day out in the Lake District pretending to be tourists. We went to Keswick where we caught a Launch on Derwent Water. The first place the launch took us to was the Ashness Pier. It was quite a steep walk to get us up to Ashness Bridge, where Chippy took this shot, mine is here, then we went on a bit further to this spot called Surprise View.

It looks at first sight as if the couple are standing on the lake shore, but, they are actually on a cliff top 550 feet (169 m) above the lake.

Our day out continued with a tour of the lake on the Launch and ended with a car trip back up the narrow, steep road to Surprise View to see if I would get a surprise view of the tripod's quick-release plate I'd left up there.

I did! I'm out of trouble now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.