A random corner

It seems I learn the most about photography when I take pictures of padlocks. I find them extremely difficult to expose properly, and end up coming back to them again and again in order to get it right.

With this one, the combination of mid-afternoon light, dirty-white grating, and dark brown lock came out pretty much as I intended (though I needed to piss about with the twiddly things in Picasa to give it the depth that attracted me to the shot - is it just my camera that makes things look flat I wonder...), so perhaps I'm well on the way to mastering this particular subject matter.

Which is, you know, something to be proud of.

When fiddling, I suddenly became more aware of the A-DEP setting, which I've never paid any attention to. I may dig out the manual and see what that's all about. Apart from that, I'm pretty at home with my camera, and can make it do what I want it to do without too much fuss which got me thinking about upgrading, and whether it's necessary or not. When do you start to out-grow your camera, do you think?

Also, do chill pills actually exist? I need a box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.