Just looking..

By ccleeve

Baku by night.

Baku is not saving electricity - it's beautifully lit up at night as you can see (although my husband tells me that only the side of the TV tower that faces the city is lit up!). I should have used a tripod to take this photo. But it's taken from the roof of Sultan's Inn where we'd gone for dinner with Mum - and I'm just about comfortable carrying my largeish camera to dinner, a tripod would be a bit much! Sultan's Inn hotel and restaurant in the old city is the most atmospheric place for a drink/dinner, particularly in the summer when you can sit outdoors.To the left of me taking this photo is Maiden's Tower and the Caspian Sea. At dusk the swifts swoop around your head, and around 9pm the azan - call to prayer - drifts up from a nearby mosque, probably the one you see in the foreground of this picture. What else to note? The top right building site will be Flame Towers: http://www.building.co.uk/story.asp?storycode=3131643 and the mosque you see in the middle of the skyline is the Turkish mosque that the authorities have closed for the time being - it's still illuminated though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.