Jenstar's pic of the day

By Jenstar77

Choo choo

I got up at 5.30am this morning to head to the airport having completed the Bolted Joints course yesterday. When I got to Bristol Airport around 7am I discoverd that all flights had been cancelled due to a volcanic ash cloud drifting accross the UK from Iceland. At first I couldn't believe it and having dropped off the hire car went up to the check-in area to find out more. I was getting nowhere fast with Eastern, if I had been flying Easyjet then I would have been getting a coach home so it soon became apparent I would need to think on my feet if I was going to sleep in my own bed tonight.

I decided that train would be my best option as I had no energy to drive all the way back. I quickly hopped on the bus to Bristol Temple Meads and got myself on the 8.30am train to Edinburgh. I'm so glad I took the initiative because by Birmingham it was standing room only. I changed at Edinburgh to catch the Aberdeen train and was home by 7pm.

It was a long day but could have been a lot worse, at least I had the means to get myself home quickly. This shot was taken after I changed at Edinburgh, crossing the Tay to Dundee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.