Mrok's photo of the day

By Mrok

Der Platterspieler

So as promised here is blip of my beloved turntable Garrard model 401. I am sure that every serious hifi/highend hobbyist would not call it "The Turntable" but I will.

This mechanical burly drive unit itself is from the 60's and completely restored by the UK based company called Loricraft. The unit is attached to heavy duty plinth made of black slate from Wales, which also has SME V arm and Transfiguration cartridge attached. The whole system sits on top of suspended hardwood base and weights approx.36kgs.

If I could say that I love some of the items I have in my possession this TT would be one of those items. It's much older than I am but still everyday it spins LPs and is always there like a loyal friend. It's kind a funny how you can develop yourself such a emotional relationship with some items..

PS: I am not sure is the title correct by german grammar so.. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.