La vida de Annie

By Annie

Last day...

... today, and Fluffy Ted has allowed us a last drink before we fly home (fingers crossed) this evening. The cocktails are a Multiple Orgasm (mine) on the left, and Sex on the Beach (Enya's) on the right. The barman served us with the traditionally loud theatrical announcement: "It was a MULTIPLE orgasm you wanted, madam? And you, madam, wanted sex on the beach? Excellent." A few heads turned and were shaken at the earliness of the hour, and when the barman caught sight of us arranging Fluffy Ted with the drinks he said "ladies, you're really sad".

Not as upset as usual to be returning home, not because my friend's here, before she thinks that. She has been excellent company and a wonderful cook/cleaner/therapist and now fellow blipper - she has the bug and is always looking for a good shot, so it's now not just me looking daft in strange places. Only glad to be going because the weather has turned really wet and chilly, I can't get the washing dry and we both have stinking colds, although the cocktails do more to help with that than the Lemsip I bought. It's been a great break but now I'm homeward bound to catch up with the things I've been neglecting recently. Hasta luego, isla bonita.


I'm sitting in the railway station.
Got a ticket for my destination.
On a tour of one-night stands my suitcase and guitar in hand.
And ev'ry stop is neatly planned for a poet and a one-man band.
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought's escaping,
Home where my music's playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.
Ev'ry day's an endless stream
Of cigarettes and magazines.
And each town looks the same to me, the movies and the factories
And ev'ry stranger's face I see reminds me that I long to be,
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought's escaping,
Home where my music's playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.

Tonight I'll sing my songs again,
I'll play the game and pretend.
But all my words come back to me in shades of mediocrity
Like emptiness in harmony I need someone to comfort me.
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought's escaping,
Home where my music's playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.
Silently for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.