Photos by me

By KrisDen

Saying Goodbye To Ernie Harwell

I must admit that I had never heard of Ernie Harwell until it was announced on the news that he had cancer. From then on, I learned about Ernie Harwell through sports radio and the news. The one thing I learned about him was that he was truly a people person, who cared deeply about his fans, family and baseball.

For those of you who don't know who Ernie Harwell is, he was a sports broadcaster who did play-by-play of Major League Baseball games for 42 years for the Detroit Tigers, by way of radio and television.

Ernie lost his battle with cancer a few days ago and died at the age of 92. Today they had a public viewing of Ernie Harwell for his fans, friends, and family. Even though I didn't grow up with Ernie Harwell, like many people of Detroit did, I felt I had to pay my respects to the man who changed the face of baseball not only in Detroit, but all over. May he R.I.P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.