nina54

By nina

This is for you Mum

When I was about to leave to Hietaniemi graveyard to visit my Mum's and Dad's grave Timo said to me: "Tell them my regards!". Since my parent's have been gone (my Dad passed away in 1986 and my Mum in 2007) we have continued to talk about them like they'd be present.

I have a little sister and a brother, and when one of us has been at the grave it is common that we call each other to tell my Mum's and Dad's regards.

Tomorrow is Mothers Day in Finland. Since many years, back when my Mum still was alive, I used to bring her roses in a pot. I have still been doing that. Because my sons will come here for dinner tomorrow I decided to go and bring the Mothers Day rose for my Mum already today.

There are rabbits on the graveyard and they had eaten the previous roses from the grave. When I started digging the roots were very deep and tenacious, hard to pull away. I had a little spade which was very useful and finally I got the rose well planted.

My Mum was a very adventurous woman, a bit wild in her youth. I think that is one of the qualities that my Dad fell in love with. She also loved the Finnish archipelago and the sea. So did Dad.

My Dad's parents had a summer cottage on an island of The Sipoo archipelago. They usually spent the whole summers there. Later on my Dad inherited the place and that become our summer place. And also we stayed there since I was born all summers. I learned to love that place and the sea very much.

This music is for My Mum (and a bit for my Dad, too). It is composed by a Finnish composer, Lasse Mårtensson. It is composed for a film made in 1975 and it is called "Myrskyluodon Maija", freely translated "Maija from the stormy islet". This music was also played at my Dad's funeral.

"Myrskyluodon Maija" is a story of a couple who moves to the archipelago, builds their life there. Life out there is not only as happy as in this little film clip. But I know that my Mum and Dad relates to and enjoys this (notice the present form).

Details best viewed as large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.