The Uninvited

Violets and mice. Both uninvited. One welcome the other not. The violets that are sprinkled about our lawn and garden are more prolific than ever, and have even outnumbered the dandelions this year. I love them, and I'm secretly happy that Mr DH hasn't found the time to mow the lawn yet.

The mice also seem to be more prolific than usual. Our mouse problem usually peaks in the fall, but for some reason, we've managed to catch five in the past two days. This one was caught by the dogs. I used to feel a bit sad for the mice --whether caught by the dogs or by Mr DHs traps-- but after spending an arm and a leg for an electrician to tear apart two walls to find where a mouse had gnawed through a wire and then spending the other arm and leg on repairs to car engines where they like to nest, I'm really not fond of them anymore.

I don't mind disposing of the slobbered-on and often eviscerated mice, moles, voles, shrews, chipmunks, and turtles my dogs bring to me, but I can't deal with the mice in the traps. My husband thinks I'm weird. I suppose he has a point.


Thanks so very much for all the views, comments and favorites on yesterday's blip. I was overwhelmed by the response.


(backblip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.