Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The remains of the day

Reuben has a beautiful pile of birthday presents to open and these are the remains of the wrappings of some of them, left just as is the open book discarded by Callum as he toddles off to the next thing. We've been waiting for him to be more like himself to do so. Tonight I hear his little voice for the first time in what seems like so long a time - echoing through from next door in excited anticipation of his bath. The trauma of what happened to him has held him back from signing and speaking for the last week since coming home from hospital. Callum has no such constraints: "No, no, no" is his latest word to learn, the big cheeky grin on his face in defiance of everything I'd like him to do or not to do. And this pic is just a little bit of the action and stillness of the two boys: Reuben of late sitting back and letting Callum grab the attention. This place at the front of the living room is also where I seem, quite unwittingly, to take most of my pics of the boys.

My worst companion unless it is to arrange appointments, supplies, surgeries or other for Reuben is the phone. I never pick it up. Yet today, hearing the voices of my brother, then sister, then our dear old friend Arek on the phone, well, it was a treat. If you're reading this on FB Arek, it was a real treat hearing your voice again and I hope I can see you during that much looked forward to trip to the UK when Reuben is well enough to travel.

This is a bit of a quick blip. Alas my Lr and PSE trials are over so it's decision and spending time. Bummer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.